CJN will appoint 23 judges to the Supreme Court as a tribute to the late Justice Nweze

The justices will be sworn in at 11 a.m. in the Supreme Court’s Main Courtroom, according to a statement released on Sunday by the court’s director of press and information, Dr. Festus Akande.

Dipeolu Deinde Isaac from Ogun State, Ogundare Kehinde Olayiwola from Ekiti State, Agbaje Olufunmilola Adetutu from Lagos State, Musa Kakaki from Kaduna State, Abdullahi Muhammad Dan-Ige from Sokoto State, and Sharon Tanko Ishaya from Kebbi State are among the new judges.

In addition to these individuals, there are Salim Olasupo Ibrahim (Ogun State), Yilwa Hauwa Joseph (Gombe State), Wigwe-Oreh Chituru Joy (Rivers State), Owoeye Alexander Oluseyi (Kogi State), Anyalewa Onoja-Alapa (Benue State), Amina Aliyu Mohammad (Katsina State), Abiodun Jordan Adeyem

The others are Hussaini Dadan-Garba (Bauchi State); Ibrahim Ahmad Kala (Gombe State); Mashkur Salisu (Zamfara State); Onah Chigozie Sergius (Enugu State); Egbe Raphael Joshua (Bayelsa State); Ariwoola Olukayode Jnr. (Oyo State); Ekerete Udofot Akpan (Akwa Ibom State); and Ogazi Friday Nkemakonam (Ebonyi State).

A farewell court session will also be place on Tuesday, October 10, at 10 a.m. in the Supreme Court’s Main Courtroom in memory of the late Justice Chima Centus Nweze.

The Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice, the Chairman of the Body of Senior Advocates of Nigeria, and the President of the Nigerian Bar Association will all present tributes during the session, which will be presided over as is customary by the Chief Justice of Nigeria.


in honour of the departed jurist. Justice Nweze died on Saturday, July 29, in Abuja at the age of 64 years after a brief illness.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x