In Oyo, Ogun, a court imprisons 33 internet fraudsters

Thirty-three online fraudsters have been convicted and punished for cybercrime in Oyo and Ogun states.

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission’s (EFCC) Ibadan Zonal Command announced that the accused had been convicted and sentenced to varied prison terms.

The EFCC, in a statement by its Head, Media and Publicity, Mr Dele Oyewale, said, “The convicts were jailed by Justices Ladiran Akintola, Adebukola Olajide and M.O. Ishola of the Oyo State High Court, Ibadan; Justice B.B. Adebowale of the Ogun State High Court sitting in Abeokuta and Justice Uche Agomoh of the Federal High Court, Ibadan, Oyo State. They were arraigned on one-count separate cybercrime charges.”

Amos Temitope Taiwo, Fatai Habeeb Mayowa, Lateef Aremu, Abiona Itunuoluwa Solomon, Olamijulo Abiodun Kayode, Abulele Endurance Ogbemudia, Owolade Shamsudeen Ayoola, Odesanya Ayoola, and Odesanya Ayoola are among them. Micheal Adedimeji, Oyedele Isreal Sunday, Toriola Yusuf Alabi, Nafiu Wariz Ayomide, and Adewale Adeyemi Fasasi Mumeen, Azeez Faruk Olanrewaju, Olamilekan Samuel Olonitola, Okeke Hycent Obinna, Quzeem Opeyemi Tajudeen, Theophilus Iroboudu Onoapor, and Muhammed Opeyemi were among those honored.

Others are Oladokun Abeeb Olaide, Precious Akinwale Balogun, Adebari Sodiq Wemimo, Ogunleye Ridwan Babatunde, Akinrinola Emmanuel Pelumi, Odigwe Victory Okwise, Seyitan David Ojo, Oyinwola Micheal Olakunle, Adewale Ibrahim Adegoke, Odunton Durojaiye Oluwaseyi, Opaleye Ramadan Olanrewaju, Tolulope Adedoyin Asekoni, Oyewole Gideon David and Asogbon Emmanuel Tobiloba.

“That you, Opaleye Ramadan Olanrewaju ‘M’ on or about 4th February, 2020, at Ibadan, within the jurisdiction of this Honourable Court, with intent to defraud one Micheal via your instagram account Catherine falsely represented yourself as Catherine, a white woman from the United States of America, which representation you knew to be false, thereby committed the offence of Personation contrary to Section 484 of the Criminal Code Law Cap.

They all pleaded “guilty” when the charge was read to them.

As a result, the prosecution counsel presented the facts of the cases and indicting documents to the courts. They also requested that the accused be convicted and sentenced as charged.

After hearing both parties’ prayers, the Justices convicted and punished the defendants accordingly.

Taiwo was sentenced to eighteen months in prison, while Olasupo and Babatunde received one-year terms. Aremu, Solomon, Adedimeji, Sunday, Alabi, Ayomide, Mumeen, Olanrewaju, Olonitola, Obinna, Tajudeen, Onoapor, Opeyemi, Wemimo, Pelumi, Okwise, Olakunle, Adegoke, Oluwaseyi, Olanrewaju, Asekoni, David, and Tobiloba also received community service.

Furthermore, Mayowa was sentenced to eight months of community service, while Kayode, Ogbemudia, Olaide, Balogun, and Ojo each received three months, and Ayoola received two months.

The prisoners were ordered by the courts to repay their victims and surrender all things recovered from them to the Federal Government of Nigeria, including eight exotic vehicles.

All 33 prisoners began their journey to the Correctional Centre after being apprehended in various locations in Oyo and Ogun states by EFCC operatives.

Further research revealed that they were involved in other internet-related offenses. They were later accused and convicted in court.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
Scroll to Top